Le 3ème Portrait Imaginaire

This is my third number of Imaginary Portraits.

Actually there’s something that caught my  attention yesterday when I made it to Museo de la Identidad Nacional. The museum is having this temporary exhibition of Pablo Picasso’s 29 litographies he did back in 1969, 4 years before his death. The whole of this group of litographies (there are 250 copies out of the original gouache paintings) depicts the noble people and aristocrats which are commonly seen in the Rembrandt’s pictures and El Greco’s as well. The Imaginary Portraits are in fact Picasso’s reinterpretations of the people portrayed by these two artists who admittedly were the greatest of influences to the modern genius, Picasso.

What I wanted to point out though, was that I delighted in Picasso naming his collection of imaginary portraits, Imaginary Portraits or Portraits Imaginaires, as he often “frenchised” his titles. How COOL is that? Hahaha!

Back to blogging, this is my third Portrait Imaginaire (ok…) because it is once again, nobody, and has no direct reference. She’s a young girl, gaze fixed somewhere over the distance, cool blazer with Balmain-like shoulder-padded jacket. I really like how the colors turned out, I might even frame this one to hang on my room’s wall.

She’s an inspiration to me because looks like a decent little fashion painting, n’est-ce pas?  :D

Pin It

1 Comment

Filed under Little Fashion Paintings

One response to “Le 3ème Portrait Imaginaire

  1. Claudia

    What can i say?!!! love this one too!!

Leave a Reply

